A Note from FL and Enclosed Article Written in Tribute of “Grannie”

Sat 9,17,2011

Dear Sophie,

I hope this finds all well with you. The weather here is just getting nice and in the low 80’s. I know it is much cooler where you are but hopefully you can enjoy it.

I am enclosing a article I wrote about my Grannie who passed away in 2005 I hope you will post it with the poems I have already sent you? Please return the article in the SASE?

Sorry you can’t send me a picture […] but I do understand and appreciate your help.

I will pass your info around but these guys in Fla are more into waisting [sic] their time rather than writing something positive.

I rarely receive mail from the outside but I write my cousin to remind her I love her and I will be telling her to pass your info to a few of our family to see and read what I have written.

With much love and respect always your friend Tony!

In The Service of The King Jesus Christ

Tony DuPree 120528

Due to the size of the article that Tony sent I was unable to get it scanned correctly and I opted instead to type it in, making sure to add all the pertinent information about the paper and date. The enclosed clipping follows below –Sophie

Covington Times Courier
Wednesday, August 23, 1995
Page 4B

To my Grannie, Alice Knowles…Happy birthday from Tony

Editor:
I was born in 1962. By then, Grannie (Alice Knowles) and Granddaddy had already raised a very healthy and strong family of three boys and two girls. Together they farmed and grew everything they needed. Grannie cooked and made all their clothes.

They bought very little from stores. Living the quality life they did, they needed very little from outside their own land, and when they did, it was bought with money they made farming.

Granddaddy passed away a few years back of natural causes. He lived a life rich with love and happiness that any European Nobleman would be proud of. We still miss him and his spirit is with us always.

Dear, sweet Grannie, she’s managed to go on without the great man she saw so much life with for well over 50 years together. Now in her late 70’s, she still makes clothes for herself and her great grandchildren. Grannie still grows just about everything she eats, and has until this very day she made shelves of jellies and jams, which I as well as her great grandchildren, love and admire her for.

Her home-baked biscuits with the many fillings from fig preserves to a link of homemade sausage, not to mention all the different pies and cakes she’s always baking. And none of us will forget the fish Grannie showed us how to catch down at the nearby river and how delicious they were when she cooked them up golden brown.

I could go on and write a book about this great Southern lady of Alabama. Bur for my article on what woman influenced my life let’s say that she not only influenced me, but my dear sweet mamma is a sparkling gem and attribute of the same noble character, as well as her sister and brothers.

They are all alive and healthy, living good lives. Growing up, I didn’t fully appreciate the rich quality of life I had been blessed with till I went out into the world and got a bird’s eye view of the decay of the noble European culture taking place in the U.S.

Grannie, you are the heart of the beautiful European culture I know and love as a Southerner. You are the Heart of Dixie. You deserve much praise for raising your children in such a noble way. It is because of your preservation and influence of our noble culture that my own sweet mamma raised and influenced me to be a better man. I love you, Grannie.

Your loving grandson,
Tony O. Dupree
P.S. Happy Birthday Grannie.
Grannie just turned 80 on 7/23/95

SHOW AUTHOR'S YOU HEAR THEM BY LEAVING A COMMENT

